Protection of Children in Armed Conflicts

“Empty Space“ is the name of the short film that won the Herat Human Rights Film Festivals. In her film, sixteen year old Mahbooba Barat tells the story of a boy who cannot go to school anymore, because he has to work to support his family after the death of his father.  All that remains of his hopes and dreams is an empty space in the classroom.

Children are especially vulnerable in conflict situations and wartime. Therefore, the United Nations have pledged to give prominence to the rights and protection of boys and girls affected by armed conflict. Back in 2005 the Security Council introduced a new mechanism to protect children in armed conflicts. Its aim is to draw up a United Nations black list of those parties to conflict which recruit child soldiers, deliberately kill and maim children or subject them to sexual violence. Not only are the conflict parties thus publicly discredited, but sanctions such as travel bans or the freezing of financial assets can also be imposed on them.

While Germany held a seat on the UN Security Council from 2011 to 2012, it chaired the Working Group on Children and Armed Conflict. Though its chairmanship of UN Working Group on Children and Armed Conflict is over, the German Government continues to work within the UN to improve the protection of children in armed conflicts and ensure that the perpetrators of prohibited acts are punished. In pursuit of that aim, Germany cooperates closely with the European Union, the United Nations and NATO. It also supports a large number of projects, for example in Afghanistan.

Modelled after the New York Working Group, a local Working group has been established in Kabul, uniting international partners in their efforts to protect children's rights. The German Embassy will chair this group and is planning on expanding its efforts for the protection of children in armed conflict. On November 21, 2016, Ambassador Walter Haßmann welcomed representatives of the Afghan government, members of civil society and international guests at his residence for an event on Children and Armed Conflict.

Ms. Leila Zerrougui, the Special Representative of the Secretary General for Children and Armed Conflict, addressed the guests in a video message and encouraged them to continue their support for children's rights and the protection of children in Afghanistan. Afterwards, the winning film from the Herat Human Rights Festival, organized by UNAMA, was shown.

Children and Armed Conflict

Mark Bowden, deputy head of UNAMA, speaking at the event on November 21, 2016

"Empty Space", Mahbooba Barat

(© Mahbooba Barat)

"Empty Space" by Mahbooba Barat won in the Herat Human Rights Film Festival

Ms. Leila Zerrougui, Special Representative of the Secretary-General for Children and Armed Conflict

(© Office of the Special Representative of the Secretary-General for Children and Armed Conflict)

Video message from Ms. Leila Zerrougui, Special Representative of the Secretary-General for Children and Armed Conflict

Deutsches Engagement für den Schutz von Kindern in bewaffneten Konflikten

„Empty Space“ heißt der Kurzfilm, den die sechzehnjährige Gewinnerin des Herat Human Rights Film Festivals eingereicht hatte. Es geht darin um einen Jungen, der nicht mehr länger zur Schule gehen kann, weil er nach dem Tod seines Vaters arbeiten muss, um seine Familie zu unterstützen. Was von seinen Träumen und Wünschen bleibt, ist nur ein leerer Platz auf der Schulbank.

In Konflikten und Krisensituationen trifft es meistens diejenigen am härtesten, die am verwundbarsten sind. Kinder gehören dazu. Die Vereinten Nationen haben sich deswegen ihrem Schutz verschrieben. Bereits 2005 etablierte der Sicherheitsrat einen neuen Mechanismus zum Schutz von Kindern in bewaffneten Konflikten. Dieser sieht vor, dass Konfliktparteien, die Kinder rekrutieren, gezielt töten oder verstümmeln oder sexuelle Gewalt gegen Kinder einsetzen, auf einer Liste der Vereinten Nationen geführt werden. Damit werden die Konfliktparteien, die Kinderrechte verletzen, nicht nur international diskreditiert, sondern es können auch Sanktionen gegen sie verhängt werden.

Während Deutschland von 2011 bis 2012 Mitglied im Sicherheitsrat der Vereinten Nationen war, hatte es den Vorsitz der Arbeitsgruppe zum Thema Kinder und bewaffnete Konflikte inne. Auch danach setzt sich die Bundesregierung weiterhin dafür ein, den Schutz von Kindern zu verbessern und Täter zu bestrafen. Deutschland arbeitet dabei eng mit der Europäischen Union, den Vereinten Nationen und der NATO zusammen und unterstützt weltweit Projekte zum Schutz von Kindern, auch in Afghanistan.

Analog zur Arbeitsgruppe der Vereinten Nationen in New York hat sich auch lokal in Kabul eine internationale Arbeitsgruppe zum Thema Kinder und bewaffnete Konflikte zusammengefunden, in der die Deutsche Botschaft in Zukunft eine tragende Rolle einnehmen möchte. Den Auftakt dazu machte am 21.11.2016 eine Veranstaltung in der Residenz des deutschen Botschafters zu der zahlreiche Gäste aus Regierung, Zivilgesellschaft und internationaler Gemeinschaft eingeladen waren.

Per Videobotschaft sprach Frau Leila Zerrougui, die VN-Sonderbeauftragte für Kinder und bewaffnete Konflikte, zu den Gästen und ermunterte sie dazu, sich weiterhin für Kinderrechte und den Schutz von Kindern in Afghanistan einzusetzen.
Außerdem wurde der Gewinnerbeitrag des von UNAMA ausgerichteten Herat Human Rights Film Festivals gezeigt.

Kinder und bewaffnete Konflikte

Bei der Veranstaltung am 21.11.2016 hielt auch der stellvertretende Leiter von UNAMA, Mark Bowden, eine Rede

Weiterführende Links

Weitere Informationem zum Thema Schutz von Kindern in bewaffneten Konflikten und zum Engagement der Bundesregierung auf diesem Gebiet finden Sie hier.

"Empty Space"

(© Mahbooba Barat)

Der Kurzfilm "Empty Space" gewann beim Herat Human Rights Film Festival den ersten Preis

Videobotschaft der VN-Sonderbeauftragten für Kinder und bewaffnete Konflikte, Frau Leila Zerrougui

(© Büro der VN-Sonderbeauftragten für Kinder und bewaffnete Konflikte)

Videobotschaft der VN-Sonderbeauftragten für Kinder und bewaffnete Konflikte, Frau Leila Zerrougui